Dean’s Reception for Graduating Student Leaders

The Dean’s Outstanding Leadership Award

Each year, the Dean of Arts hosts a special reception to recognize Arts undergraduate students who will be graduating (May or November) and have dedicated themselves as leaders that have made an impact during their time at UBC.

The event celebrates all nominated students (Outstanding Leader Award and Student Leader Recognition Award) to attend the reception on March 22nd, 2017. Nominating a student for a “Student Leader Recognition Award” automatically invites the student to the Dean’s Reception. Students can also be nominated for one of three Dean’s Outstanding Leadership Awards. Anyone – whether staff, faculty, alumni, or student – is eligible to nominate these graduating student leaders.

Students may be nominated to be considered for their exceptional contributions in the following Outstanding Leadership Awards:

  • Outstanding Leader in the Faculty of Arts 
  • Outstanding Leader in the UBC Community
  • Outstanding Leader in the UBC Community and Beyond

Once nominated for an Outstanding Leadership award, an email sent to the student will alert them of their nomination and ask for a personal statement and resume. These documents, along with the content of the nomination, will help inform the Selection Committee’s decision on a recipient.

The following considerations will help determine the recipients:

  • The depth and impact of the nominee’s contributions to the UBC/Community
  • Demonstrated leadership in the scope of their involvement
  • Good academic standing (although grades are not the most important factor, they are considered during the selection process)

The deadline to nominate a student to attend the 2017 Dean’s Reception for Graduating Student Leaders has now passed.

Please forward any inquiries to Robyn Begg at

2017 Award Winners


Community Contributions to the Faculty of Arts
2017 Astghik Hairapetian
2016 Audrey Tong

Community Contributions to UBC
2017 Nika Moeini
2016 Daniel Munro

Community Contributions to UBC and Beyond
2017 Morrell Andrews and Jory Smallenberg
2016 Emily Chan and Maria Dawson

Academic Contributions to the Faculty of Arts
2016 Skyler Wang and Aidan Pine

Outstanding Student Leader in the Faculty of Arts
2015 Nicole Aleong
2014 Paula Zelaya Cervantes & Erica Baker
2013 Jenny Chen & Selvan Ramis
2012 Amanda Cheong
2011 Caroline Durran & Claudia Pedrero
2010 Nicco Bautista
2009 Rory Babin

Outstanding Student Leader in the UBC Community
2015 Eva Chan
2014 Benjamin Jelsma
2013 Thilini Leitan
2012 Justin Yang

Outstanding Student Leader from the UBC Community to Beyond
2015 James Timperley
2014 Lina Zdruli
2013 Salima Hirji
2012 Tarini Fernando
2011 Elysa Hogg
2010 Diana K. Moreiras & Michelle Cheong
2009 Robyn Plasterer